Epic of Gilgamesh
11 tablets for reading -

(“He who saw the deep” by Sin-liqe-unninni is an epic poem from Ancient Mesopotamia
and is among the earliest known works of literary fiction.)

artist’s book, 11 concertina folded books in a cardboard case

Since November,15,2004 till June,20,2005 I had been discovering the traces of a lost text, worned out inscriptions, maps of unknown reference, drawings and schemes representing cities, itineraries, geometrical figures and algebraical expressions, astronomic observations and constellations’ outlines. These artifacts were classified into several books. Completely heterogeneous at first sight, further they all revealed common formal features, which unequivocally pointed the place of origin of messages they concealed. Surfaces uniformly speckled with signs, fragments of brickwork, austere monumental shapes and – as exact antithesis – intricate and tangled structures, labyrinths, which resemble convoluted intestines of sacrificed animals, celestial bodies’ trajectories, abundant ornaments – all of these spoke of the country of origin – the ancient Mesopotamia. The first deciphering results were overhelming – each peace told an Epic of Gilgamesh fragment! Further investigation and expeditions were undertaken. In a few months I handeled 11 large fragments and numerous minor pieces.

экспликация на русском

an archaeological section 


the ziggurat of the book 

the tablet of introduction  

the first tablet of seduction  

the second tablet of a twin  

the third tablet of cities  

the fourth tablet of dreams  

the fifth tablet of a cedar thicket 

the sixth tablet of the bull  

the seventh tablet of fate  

the eighth tablet of mourning  

the ninth tablet of desert  

the tenth tablet of death waters  

the eleventh tablet of the flood